Saturday, 18 February 2017

17 years later Philip Pullman and the "The Book of Dust"

The Book of Dust (The Book of Dust Trilogy #1) by Philip Pullman 

Philip Pullman returns to the world of His Dark Materials with this magnificent new novel, set ten years before Northern Lights and featuring his much-loved character, Lyra Belacqua.

When the words were first spoken and unlocked the door to a world parallel to our own; that when readers met His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman. A magical fantasy world that seems like ours but you have a part of your spirit walking by your side. It all began back in 1995 when "Northern Lights" was first published to introduce our heroine Lyra. That was the golden age of young adult novels which many of the young readers never knew about as the last installment "The Amber Spyglass" was originally published in 2000. 

After 17 years Philip Pullman is finally back with an adventure within Londen and Oxford; he is back with "The Book of Dust", adding to Pullman speaking to the Today programme on BBC Radio 4, he said "the first book of the trilogy opened roughly 10 years before the action of Northern Lights, and the series “continues roughly 10 years after His Dark Materials”.

“So we see Lyra both as a baby and we see her in the second book as an adult; she’s 20 years old,” Pullman added. “There she can fully take agency of the story, so to speak.”
Lyra is finally back and other familiar characters and indeed it's a quest included the dust. Excitement is word to describe my feelings toward "The Book of Dust" because it's going to fulfill the dreams of my teenage reading years
Now, I call for a reading challenge for "His Dark Materials" is until October 19, 2017 which is the release of "The Book of Dust".

Quoting Philip Pullman about "His Dark Materials";

His Dark Materials is a young adult epic trilogy of fantasy novels consisting of Northern Lights (1995, published as The Golden Compass in North America), The Subtle Knife (1997), and The Amber Spyglass (2000). It follows the coming of age of two children, Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry, as they wander through a series of parallel universes.

In addition to the trilogy, there are also two short novels: Lyra's Oxford and Once Upon a Time in the North. Lyra's Oxford is a sequel to The Amber Spyglass.

Now, I will be reading and reviewing each book of the original series and if you wish to follow my lead, please mention this in the comments below 

Share with the world:


  1. Oh I loved Northern Lights <33 The Subtle Knife is on my march TBR ..Hopefully i'll love the whole trilogy :) I'm glad he's returning the world of the Northern Lights <33

    I really like your header image :)

    New Follower! [email protected]

  2. I am glad he is finally taking us to when Lyra was younger and once again when she is older; I am excited already.

    Thank you so much it's the covers of Théâtre Illuminata series by Lisa Mantchev.

    Now, I am following your blog too.


Designed by Beautifully Chaotic